Miaow

I have adopted a cat. RSPCA homecheck willing, she’ll be with us in a week.

She’s old. About 12. A stray. Her teeth are manky and they’re not sure she’d survive an operation to mend them, she has terribly crackly lungs and her back is matted, scabby and dandruffy. But this is all cosmetic. She is inherently beautiful, an elegant, slender grey creature, full of affection, and she is coming to live with me.

I didn’t go looking for an older cat. She chose me. I went into her pen, and she licked me. A done deal.

I will heal my abandoned, broken, unloved self through this abandoned, broken, unloved cat.

And she will serve as receptacle for that flavour of love in me that can’t resist a lame, broken soul. I will pour all of that patient, gentle, well-meaning kind of love into her, and there won’t be any left over to fall for any lame, broken men.

She’s important, this cat. She marks a turning point.

7 Comments on “Miaow”

  1. welcome to the cat club! a creature worthy & deserving of your love, trust and affection…

  2. S. says:

    This is a beautiful post. I love that you are bringing a grown cat home and aren’t hung up on getting a cute kitten. I hope that as you care for her you will care more for your nice and wonderful self. And that she will be a salve for your wounds.
    Best,
    xo – S.

  3. subtlekate says:

    I’m a big animal adoptor, I just can’t seem to stop and it does help. They are healing, like little pills, only better.

  4. Sounds purrr-fect!
    Nice cat = lucky owner
    Nice owner = lucky cat

  5. […] Miaow (motherinterrupted.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Beautiful… & I have to say, all the pets I have chose me. It has to be this way cuz for me, when they’re in, they’re IN.

  7. Hey there cat lady! 🙂 I’ve nominated you for a blogger award! More details: http://thatprecariousgait.com/2012/04/17/id-like-to-thank-the-academy/ xo.


Leave a Reply

